Skip to content ↓

St Wilfrid's Catholic School

Subject Leader:   Mrs Rebecca Harrison

Website:                  St Wilfrid's Catholic School - Health & Social Care


The two BTEC qualifications offered in this subject are designed to equip learners with the skills and knowledge needed to work in a broad range of health or social care settings. 


Key Stage 4

The Pearson BTEC Level 1/Level 2 Tech Award in Health and Social Care gives learners the opportunity to develop sector-specific knowledge and skills in a practical learning environment. There are three areas of study, skills and processes, which includes interpreting data to assess an individual’s health, and designing a plan to improve their health and wellbeing.  The care values that are vitally important in the sector, and the opportunity to practise applying them.  Knowledge that underpins the effective use of skills, processes and attitudes, including human growth and development, health and social care services, and factors affecting people’s health and wellbeing.


Key Stage 5

The Pearson BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care aims to provide an introduction the sector. It is for learners who are interested in learning about the health and social care sector as part of a balanced study programme. It is equivalent in size to one A Level. The qualification supports access to a range of higher education courses.


The course cover topics relevant across the health and social care sector: Human Lifespan Development, Working in Health and Social Care, Meeting Individual Care and Support Needs and Supporting Individuals with Additional Needs.